A MOTHER’S LOVE: Poems and Quotes

Searching for words to celebrate Mothers’ Day this year, my thoughts and feelings were drawn to the mothers who have lost their homes and are seeking refuge in new lands. Such dispossession seems unimaginable.

Each of the poems selected reflects the depth and indomitable strength of maternal love.

 

“You loved me before seeing me;

You love me in all my mistakes;

You will love me for what I am.”
― Luffina Lourduraj

Mother_and_Child

MOTHER TO SON-Langston Hughes

 

Well, son, I’ll tell you:
Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
It’s had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor—
Bare.
But all the time
I’se been a-climbin’ on,
And reachin’ landin’s,
And turnin’ corners,
And sometimes goin’ in the dark
Where there ain’t been no light.
So, boy, don’t you turn back.
Don’t you set down on the steps.
‘Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.
Don’t you fall now—
For I’se still goin’, honey,
I’se still climbin’,
And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.

 

075b0d41a4635a7d024c98fb567ecc5e

A mother’s body remembers her babies-the folds of soft flesh, the softly furred scalp against her nose.

Each child has it’s own entreaties to body and soul.” 
― Barbara Kingsolver

179e76c359449b284b4d1935db08a592

 

Mother – Poem by Lola Ridge

 

Your love was like moonlight
turning harsh things to beauty,
so that little wry souls
reflecting each other obliquely
as in cracked mirrors . . .
beheld in your luminous spirit
their own reflection,
transfigured as in a shining stream,
and loved you for what they are not.

You are less an image in my mind
than a luster
I see you in gleams
pale as star-light on a gray wall . . .
evanescent as the reflection of a white swan
shimmering in broken water.

 

0426d70e90cc20ca2086074058eb355c    45443483

 

“My mom smiled at me. Her smile kind of hugged me.” 
― R.J. PalacioWonder

 

The Mother – Poem by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Here I lean over you, small son, sleeping
Warm in my arms,
And I con to my heart all your dew-fresh charms,
As you lie close, close in my hungry hold…
Your hair like a miser’s dream of gold,
And the white rose of your face far fairer,
Finer, and rarer
Than all the flowers in the young year’s keeping;
Over lips half parted your low breath creeping
Is sweeter than violets in April grasses;
Though your eyes are fast shut I can see their blue,
Splendid and soft as starshine in heaven,
With all the joyance and wisdom given
From the many souls who have stanchly striven
Through the dead years to be strong and true.

Those fine little feet in my worn hands holden…
Where will they tread?
Valleys of shadow or heights dawn-red?
And those silken fingers, O, wee, white son,
What valorous deeds shall by them be done
In the future that yet so distant is seeming
To my fond dreaming?
What words all so musical and golden
With starry truth and poesy olden

Shall those lips speak in the years on-coming?
O, child of mine, with waxen brow,
Surely your words of that dim to-morrow
Rapture and power and grace must borrow
From the poignant love and holy sorrow
Of the heart that shrines and cradles you now!

Some bitter day you will love another,
To her will bear
Love-gifts and woo her… then must I share
You and your tenderness! Now you are mine
From your feet to your hair so golden and fine,
And your crumpled finger-tips… mine completely,
Wholly and sweetly;
Mine with kisses deep to smother,
No one so near to you now as your mother!
Others may hear your words of beauty,
But your precious silence is mine alone;
Here in my arms I have enrolled you,
Away from the grasping world I fold you,
Flesh of my flesh and bone of my bone!

 

“Being a mother is an attitude, not a biological relation.” 
― Robert A. HeinleinHave Space Suit—Will Travel

not_detected_235972

 

A  lesson in abundance – Michelle Payette-Daoust, October 1998

(written while participating in the Creative Writing Workshop with Tim Fain)

 

In x-ray light a

mother suckles her child

the television is her

late night companion

 

Remote control

motions they are simply going through

baby’s eyes scanning the dark

Where are yours mama ?

 

This scene has been oft replayed

Syrian mother and child

wrung-out mother longing

for sleep’s black hole

frozen eyes fixed on a world beyond

 

Jolting images on the screen

draw her to a place

of embargoes and despair

rag doll babies clutched in

dead-eyed mothers’ arms

 

Ghost hospitals with

empty shelves

a shell-shocked surgeon’s

monotone

 

A searing pain

a rush of emotion blood

Syrian mother and child
Syrian mother and child

the mother looks down

at the life in her arms

 

I can feed you till you burst

I can tend your wounds

I can warm you with my love’s fire

You will never want

 

She gasps from this stomach blow

tidal wave flooding her lungs

burning her throat

spilling from her eyes

 

They are tears of shame and abundance.

syria-mother-and-child-homsuptodate-9-3-2013
Syrian mother and child

 

“But there’s a story behind everything. How a picture got on a wall. How a scar got on your face. Sometimes the stories are simple, and sometimes they are hard and heartbreaking. But behind all your stories is always your mother’s story, because hers is where yours begin.” 
― Mitch AlbomFor One More Day

may-sarton
May Sarton 1912-1995

 

For my Mother – May Sarton

Once more
I summon you
Out of the past
With poignant love,
You who nourished the poet
And the lover.
I see your gray eyes
Looking out to sea
In those Rockport summers,
Keeping a distance
Within the closeness
Which was never intrusive
Opening out
Into the world.

And what I remember
Is how we laughed
Till we cried
Swept into merriment
Especially when times were hard.
And what I remember
Is how you never stopped creating
And how people sent me
Dresses you had designed
With rich embroidery
In brilliant colors
Because they could not bear
To give them away
Or cast them aside.

I summon you now
Not to think of
The ceaseless battle
With pain and ill-health,
The frailty and the anguish.
No, today I remember
The creator,
The lion-hearted.

Here is a list of books that explore the mother-child relationship:

HAPPY MOTHERS’ DAY !!

0393078280.01.LZZZZZZZ  075530845X.01.LZZZZZZZ

2 thoughts on “A MOTHER’S LOVE: Poems and Quotes

  1. … and there is always Love You Forever by Robert Munsch which turns from a mother’s love for a child to the child’s love for a mother…

    “I’ll love you forever
    I’ll like you for always
    As long as I’m living
    My mommy you’ll be”

    Something we all have in common is that though we will not all be parents ourselves, we will always have a mother and a father and a child we will always be.

Leave a Reply

