Top Picks – Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Olive KitteridgeTop Picks –Giving short stories another chance- Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

First Alice Munroe and now Lynn Coady. The critics are loving them so maybe we should re-consider short stories. I don’t hate them, but they do make me work harder. When I have finished reading them I have to think about them for a while to figure out what they are saying to me. I suggest giving Olive Kitteridge a try. It is a collection of short stories but they all involve the same character in some way so that by the end of the book the reader has seen Olive from many different points of view. Think of it as short stories with the feel of a novel. It’s a start.

Leave a Reply

