WHO SAYS CHILDREN’S BOOKS ARE JUST FOR KIDS?!

A friend recently posted the following link on her Facebook page: http://www.nypl.org/childrens100   0062209698.01.LZZZZZZZ

It is the New York Public Library’s list of The 100 Great Children’s Books of the past 100 years.  Chosen by the children’s librarians, these books continue to fly off the shelves.

Yes, this is an adult book club, but I believe that many of us—perhaps the happiest?—are still children at heart.  While scrolling down the NY Library’s list, I was awash in a strong, warm feeling that is often connected to happy childhood memories.

0739338994.01.LZZZZZZZAmelia Bedelia!

Harriet the Spy!

What pleasure these stories gave me! Did they make me a reader for life? Very likely. That, and the fact that both my mother and father sat with my sisters and me, at day’s end, reading stories in English or French.

Should children’s stories stay locked away in our past? Of course not. The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter series took adults by storm as they transformed children’s lit. I spent hours and hours snuggled next to my youngest son, reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone out loud to him until eventually, he was able to carry on alone in English. I loved those  0670445800.01.LZZZZZZZbooks as much as he did.

These days, I am rediscovering the delights of Dr. Seuss, the sophisticated quirkiness of Ludwig Bemelmans’ Madeline, and the safety and uniqueness of H. A. Rey’s Curious George as I share them with my very young granddaughter.

Do check out The 100 Great Children’s Books list. You never outgrow great stories.

Leave a Reply

